Rhode Island Hardship License

Published 01/02/2020

How will I get to work if my license gets suspended for a Rhode Island DUI or Breathalyzer Refusal?

You can petition the court for a hardship license after the initial preliminary suspension and after any conviction.  To be eligible for this benefit you need to have an ignition interlock installed in your motor vehicle.

An ignition interlock is slightly larger than a cell phone and is wired to the vehicle's ignition. These devises can generally be installed quickly. After installation it will require your breath sample before the engine will start. If the ignition interlock detects alcohol on your breath the engine will not start. As you drive the devise will periodically require additional breath samples to insure the absence of alcohol in your system.

A hearing must be conducted before the court where you will need to provide proof of employment, hours worked, and other relevant material.

The hardship license is only valid for twelve (12) hours per day to get to and from employment, necessary medical appointments, job training, schooling, or any other valid reason approved in advance by the sentencing judge or magistrate.

If you have been granted a hardship license from the sentencing court you must have an ignition interlock device installed in conjunction with the hardship license. The Division of Motor Vehicles imposes a $100.00 fee, for the ignition interlock device restriction. This fee is in addition to any fees charged by the ignition interlock provider. The motorist will also be charged a fee of $27.50 to obtain an updated driver’s license indicating the hardship license and ignition interlock device restrictions.

Call The Law Office of Matthew L. LaMountain to schedule a free consultation and to help you through this troubling time.