Rhode Island DUI Penalties

Published 02/05/2020

Penalties for DUI

DUI .08-.10 & Belief that Operator was Under the Influence of a Controlled Substance

  • Up to One (1) Year in Prison
  • Fine $100-$300
  • $500 Highway Assessment Fine
  • Loss of License 30 days up to 180 days
  • Community Service 10-60 hours
  • DUI School or Substance Abuse Counseling

DUI .10-.15 or Blood Alcohol Unknown

  • Up to One (1) Year in Prison
  • Fine $100-$400
  • $500 Highway Assessment Fine
  • Loss of License 3 months up to 1 year 
  • Community Service 10 - 60 hours
  • DUI School or Substance Abuse Counseling

DUI > .15  or Blood or Urine Presence of a Controlled Substance

  • Up to One (1) Year in Prison
  • Fine $500
  • $500 Highway Assessment Fine
  • Loss of License 3 months up to 18 months
  • Community Service 20 - 60 hours
  • DUI School or Substance Abuse Counseling

Second Offense DUI Within Five Years

 

DUI .08- .15 / Blood Alcohol Unknown / Blood or Urine Presence of Controlled Substance

  • Mandatory 10 days in Prison and up to One (1) Year in Prison
  • Fine $400
  • $500 Highway Assessment Fine
  • Loss of License 1 year to 2 years
  • Alcohol or Substance Abuse Counseling

DUI >.15 / Belief that Under Influence of Controlled Substance

  • Mandatory 6 months in Prison up to 1 Year in Prison
  • Fine  $1,000 minimum
  • $500 Highway Assessment Fine
  • Loss of License 2 years
  • Alcohol or Substance Abuse Counseling

Third Offense DUI Within 5 Years

 

DUI .08 -.15 / Blood or Urine Presence of Controlled Substance

  • Felony Charge
  • Mandatory 1 Year in Prison and up to 3 Years in Prison
  • Fine $400
  • $500 Highway Assessment Fine
  • Loss of License 2 Years to 3 Years
  • Alcohol or Substance Abuse Counseling
  • Judge Can Order Defendant's Motor Vehicle Sold and Funds Sent to Rhode Island General Fund

DUI >.15 / Belief that Under Influence of Controlled Substance

  • Felony Charge
  • Mandatory 3 Years in Prison and up to 5 Years in Prison
  • Fine $1,000 minimum up to $5,000
  • $500 Highway Assessment Fine
  • Loss of License 3 Years from Completion of Sentence
  • Alcohol or Substance Abuse Counseling
  • Judge Can Order Defendant's Motor Vehicle Sold and Funds Sent to Rhode Island General Fund

DUI While License Suspended for DUI

  • Felony Charge
  • Up to 3 Years in Prison
  • Fine up to $3,000
  • Alcohol or Substance Abuse Counseling

DUI (Driver Over 18) With Child Under 13 in Motor Vehicle    (First Offense)

  • Immediate License Suspension
  • Up to 1 Year In Jail
  • Up to $1,000 Fine

DUI (Driver Over 18) With Child Under 13 in Motor Vehicle (Second Offense)

  • Felony Charge
  • Up to 5 Years in Prison
  • Up to $5,000 Fine
  • $500 Highway Assessment Fine
  • Loss of License up to 2 Years
  • DUI School
  • Alcohol or Substance Abuse Counseling

DUI - Driver Under 18 (First Offense)

  • Not a Misdemeanor Offense  (No Fine or Jail)
  • Loss of License 6 months up to 18 months
  • Community Service 10 - 60 Hours
  • Up to $500 Highway Assessment  Fee
  • DUI School or Alcohol / Substance Abuse Counseling

DUI - Driver Under 18 (Second Offense)

  • Loss of License until 21 Years Old
  • Up to 1 Year at Rhode Island Training School

Call Me for a FREE Case Evaluation if you or someone you know was arrested for a DUI.

Protect your rights and get an experienced DUI attorney to protect you!

Call Now For A Free Consultation

401-699-8601