Will a Rhode Island DUI Conviction affect my CDL?
Federal laws control the issuance and regulations of Commercial Drivers Licenses (“CDL”). As such they have determined that if you are convicted of a DUI in Rhode Island you will lose your CDL for a period of 1 year. A conviction, according to the Federal Regulation, is a guilty plea or a plea of nolo contendere or the payment of a fine.
If you are operating a Commercial Motor Vehicle and are found to have a Blood Alcohol Content of 0.04% or higher, your CDL will be suspended for a period of 1 year. With a second conviction resulting in a lifetime loss of your CDL.
The starting date for your CDL suspension would be from the date of conviction and not the date of the offense.
You are also mandated to report this suspension or revocation to your employer within one day of its going to effect.
This is a complex area of the law and you should reach out to an experienced DUI attorney to help you through this troubling time.
Call The Law Office of Matthew L. LaMountain to schedule a free consultation.