Will a Rhode Island Breathalyzer Refusal affect my CDL?
If you refuse a breathalyzer and have a CDL in Rhode Island, you will lose your CDL for a period of 1 year. Rhode Island is an Implied Consent State, which means that any person who operates a motor vehicle within the state is deemed to have given his or consent to chemical testing of bodily fluids and/or breath if the officer has reasonable grounds to believe the driver is under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
What are the penalties for a Rhode Island Breathalyzer Refusal?
This is a civil violation and not a criminal offense. For a first offense, you can be fined up to $500, up to 60 hours of community service and up to a one year loss of license. You would also have to complete DUI school or Substance Abuse Counseling. You would also have to pay a $500 highway safety assessment fee and a $200 Department of Health assessment.
This is a complex area of the law and you should reach out to an experienced DUI attorney to help you through this troubling time.
Contact The Law Office of Matthew L. LaMountain to schedule a free consultation.